Works with and greatly enhances:

Windows 10

Windows 8, 7, Vista, XP

Servers 2003 and later


Starting at just $50 for home use and $69 for a business license (and a business two-pack for just $99!)

What's New / What's Up

Newsletter sign up

Version 4
Spring 2017

Major new tools, significant upgrades to current components and lightening fast folder listings.


  • Find and rename problem files: bad paths, illegal characters, Linux & iOS (Mac) characters.
  • Check files and folders for compliance with different file systems e.g., NTFS, Fat-16, Fat-32, eFat, CDs, iOS, Linux and custom.
    Know if the files are right before you copy.
  • Delete files no matter their length or how they are named.
  • Powerful renaming with RegEx e.g. change 'Romeo Smith' into 'Smith, Romeo' and much more.
  • Lightening fast directory listing no matter how large the folder.
  • Detailed reports for copy errors.
  • Variable text size for views and dialogs.
  • and many more improvements and fixes..

 

See the V4 preview here.

Destroying Files

Permanently deletes files from your hard disk

making them invulnerable to restore utilities. FileBoss writes over the data in the files several times before deleting the files themselves.

 

To Destroy Selected Files

First select the files you want to Destroy.

(Click here to find out more about FileBoss' advanced selection methods.)

  • Select the files you want to Destroy.

  • Select 'Actions > Advanced > Destroy...' from the main menu

  • Confirm that you want to destroy the selected files.

 

Warning: Destroying files will scrub them from your disk so you will not be able to retrieve them again.

But:

  • Will destroying files keep my spouse from finding out what I'm giving for our Anniversary? Probably Yes.

  • Will destroying files keep my boss from seeing my new resume? Probably

  • Will destroying files keep a government, any government, from knowing what was in them? If they have your computer and really want those files then quite likely not (see below).

 

Please remember that destroying files does not guarantee that the information in those files is no longer on your computer. Programs that used the file and even Windows itself may have cached the contents of the file somewhere else.